LibGuides: Plants : A Research Guide: Poisonous & Medicinal

Poisonous & Medicinal Plants : SDZWA Library Resources

These books and journals can be found at the SDZWA Library or website and are a good starting point for your research. Find more through the Library Catalog and Journals Catalog.

Books

Amazonian ethnobotanical dictionary
By James Alan Duke
Call no. QK98.4 .D85 1994 REF

Common poisonous plants and mushrooms of North America
By Nancy J. Turner
Call no. QK100 .T87 1991 MAIN

Ethnobotany and conservation of biocultural diversity
By Thomas J.S. Carlson
Call no. QK99 .E84 2004 MAIN

Handbook of poisonous and injurious plants
By Lewis Nelson
Call no. QK100 .N45 2006 MAIN

International poisonous plants checklist: an evidence-based reference
By Jesse D. Wagstaff
Call no. QK100 .W34 2008 MAIN

Native American ethnobotany
By Daniel E. Moerman
Call no. QK98.4 .M66 1998 MAIN

Poisonous plants of California
By Thomas C. Fuller
Call no. QK100 .C36 F968 1986 MAIN

Journals

American Journal of Botany
Economic Botany
International Journal of Poisonous Plant Research (IJPPR)

Websites

Amazon Plants
Information on plants in Amazonian rainforest. Hosted by Raintree Nutrition.
Botanical Dermatology Database (BoDD)
Online version of Botanical Dermatology (by John Mitchell and Arthur Rook).
Guide to Plant Poisoning of Animals in North America
Short article by A.P. Knight and R.G. Walter, both of Colorado State University.
Native American Ethnobotany
Database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples which are derived from plants. Hosted by University of Michigan - Dearborn.
Plants for a Future (PFAF)
Online resource and information center for edible and useful plants. Contains Edible & Medicinal Plants Database.
Plants Poisonous to Livestock
Reference that includes information regarding poisonous plants and their effects on livestock. Maintained by Cornell University Department of Animal Science.
Spices: Exotic Flavors & Medicines
Online exhibit from UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library's spice illustrations.

Databases

FDA Poisonous Plant Database
Provides references to the scientific literature describing studies of the toxic properties and effects of plants and plant parts.

SDZWA Research Guides

Animals
Guide to finding animal information online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Animal Welfare
Guide to finding animal welfare, training, and enrichment information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library.
Conservation
Guide to finding conservation information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Plants
Guide to finding plant, plant conservation, and botanical garden information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Veterinary Medicine
Guide to finding veterinary and biomedical information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Zoos & Aquariums
Guide to zoo & aquarium information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance; natural history museum links

SDZWA Library Links

Library Home
Home page, San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Catalog
SDZWA Library's online public-access catalog - SDZWA team members may request books for delivery via interoffice mail
Journals A-Z
Journals available to team members through the SDZWA Library - search contents, view library holdings, access full text
Databases
Article databases available through the SDZWA Library; journal information
Fact Sheets
Portal to the SDZWA Library's detailed, fully referenced animal fact sheets
Priority Species Information
Custom literature searches and fact sheets for current priority species — for SDZWA team members, onsite access only
SDZWA Research Publications
Peer reviewed and scientific works by San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance staff.
Research Guides
Portal to the SDZWA Library's research guides: Animals, Animal Welfare, Conservation, Plants, Reference, Veterinary Medicine, Zoos & Aquariums
Contact Us
Email the SDZWA Library at library@sdzwa.org.