Any research should include the use of the Libraries' databases. They are easily accessible online, searchable, and contain a wealth of information. Access is provided through a single sign on tool called Open Athens. If sign-in is required, use the institutional option (look for a link) with Open Athens and your WRI credentials. If you would like more information, check out the Tips & Tricks tab above or contact the Librarians.
After researching, if you don't find a specific journal article in full text, please reach out to Library@wri.org with citation information. The library has negotiated lower pricing per article with many vendors including Elsevier & Wiley.
If you would like access to a specific source (journals, research resources behind a paywall), please fill out a Materials Request. We will do our best to respond to each request placed within 5 business days.
In addition, please note: While every suggestion will be considered, the Library can not buy every suggested title.
With Discovery you can quickly find reliable articles to help you complete literature reviews and research projects. Discovery Search indexes much of our total online collection.
Basic searching is fast, easy, and uses a familiar, Google-like interface, one search box to discover credible and reliable library content. Or choose Advanced Search to expand to three or more search boxes. By default, your search terms are searched as keywords against records of items in our collections.
Use the Refine your search panel to limit search results by content type, discipline, library location, publication date, language and more.
Search results can include materials that are not part of WRI collections, but may be requested through our linked Interlibrary Loan form.
Search results, including abstracts and citations can be viewed in commonly used citation formats, emailed, and printed. Discovery can be used in conjunction with other Ebsco tools, such as the personal folder, alerts and the citation linker to find the resources you need.
Direct access narrows the results of a search by limiting the amount of material searched. To see more information on the collections roll over the "information" icon.
What to consider when choosing a single database:
Lexis-Nexis is available through the Library only. While we regret not being able to provide direct access to staff, the WRI Librarians do have access and can perform searches for you. We can also set up ongoing news, business, and limited legal searches. Please contact the library for more information or searching.