Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance logo
San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library logo

Laughing Kookaburra (Dacelo novaeguineae) Fact Sheet: Bibliography & Resources

Kookaburra (Dacelo novaeguineae)

Bibliography

Baker MC. 2004. The chorus song of cooperatively breeding laughing kookaburras (Coraciiformes, Halcyonidae: Dacelo novaeguineae): characterization and comparison among groups. Ethology 110(1):21-35.

Becker JJ. 1986. A fossil motmot (Aves: Momotidae) from the Late Miocene of Florida. The Condor 88:478-482. Retrieved from: http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.2307/1368274

BirdLife International. (2009). Dacelo novaeguineae. Retrieved from: http://www.birdlife.org

BirdLife International. 2016. Dacelo novaeguineae. The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species 2016: e.T22683189A92977835; accessed 2017 Jan 24. http://dx.doi.org/10.2305/IUCN.UK.2016-3.RLTS.T22683189A92977835.en.

Blakers M, Davies SJF, Reilly PN. 1984. Atlas of Australian birds. Carlton, Victoria, Australia: University Press.

Boles WE. 1997. A kingfisher (Halcyonidae) from the Miocene of Riversleigh, northwestern Queensland, with comments on the evolution of kingfishers in Australo-Papua. Memoirs of the Queensland Museum 41, 229–234.

Buttemer WA, Nicol SC, Sharman A. 2003. Thermoenergetics of pre-moulting and moulting kookaburras (Dacelo novaeguineae): they're laughing. Journal of Comparative Physiology B: Biochemical, Systemic, and Environmental Physiology 173(3):223-230.

Cooper CE, Kortner G, Brigham M, Geiser F. 2008. Body temperature and activity patterns of free-living laughing kookaburras: the largest kingfisher is heterothermic. The Condor. DOI:10.1525/cond.2008.110.1.110.

Eastman W. 1970. The life of the kookaburra and other kingfishers. Sydney, Australia: Angus & Robertson. 64 pp.

Emlen ST, Wrenge P. 1991. Breeding biology of white-fronted bee-eaters at Nakuru: the influence of helpers on breeder fitness. Journal of Animal Ecology 60:309-326.

Fletcher J. 1907. Great brown kingfisher (Dacelo gigas) in Tasmania. Emu 7:119.

Ford HA. 1985. A synthesis of the foraging ecology and behaviour of birds in eucalypt forests and woodlands. In: Keast A, Recher HF, Ford H, Saunders D. (Eds.). Birds of eucalypt forests and woodlands. New South Wales, Australia: Surrey Beatty and Sons. pp. 249-254.

Foreshaw JM, Cooper WT. 1983. Kingfishers and related birds. Alcedinidae: Ceryle to Cittura. Melbourne: Lansdowne Editions.

Fry CH, Fry K, Harris A. 1992. Kingfishers, bee-eaters & rollers. London, UK:Christopher Helm Publishers Ltd.

Geiser F, Körtner G, Maddocks TA, Brigham MR. 2006. Torpor in Australian birds. Proceedings of the 23rd International Ornithological Congress, Acta Zoologica Sinica. 52S:405-408.

Giles J. 1994. Caring for kookaburras. Bird Care & Conservation Society South Australia Inc. 4 pp. Retrieved May 2012 from: http://www.birdcare.asn.au/pdf/kookas.pdf

Gill F, Donsker D, editors. 2019. IOC world bird list, master list [ver. 9.1]; [updated 20 Jan 2019; accessed 19 Mar 2019]. http://www.worldbirdnames.org. doi:10.14344/IOC.ML.9.1.

Higgins PJ. (Ed.) 1999. Laughing kookaburra. Handbook of Australian, New Zealand, and Antarctic Birds. Melbourne, Australia: Oxford University Press. pp. 1122-1139.

Hobbs JN. 1966. Whistling kite taking a kookaburra. Emu 66(1):46.

ITIS 2011. Dacelo novaeguineae (Hermann, 1783). Integrated Taxonomic Information System. Retrieved 7 May 2012 http://www.itis.gov/servlet/SingleRpt/SingleRpt

Integrated Taxonomic Information System database (ITIS) [Internet]. [accessed 2017 Jan 24]. Dacelo novaeguineae. http://www.itis.gov

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. 2011. Dacelo novaeguinae. Retrieved 15 February 2012 from: http://www. iucnredlist.org/apps/redlist/details/106001091/0/print.

Keast A. 1985. Bird community structure in southern forests and northern woodlands: a comparison. In: Keast A, Recher HF, Ford H, Saunders D. (Eds.). Birds of eucalypt forests and woodlands. New South Wales, Australia: Surrey Beatty and Sons, Ltd. pp. 97-128.

Legge S. 2000a. The effect of helpers on reproductive success in the laughing kookaburra. Journal of Animal Ecology 69:714-724.

Legge S. 2000b. Helper contributions in the laughing kookaburra: feeding young is no laughing matter. Animal Behaviour 59:1009-1018. DOI:10.1006/anbe.2000.1382.

Legge S. 2000c. Siblicide in the cooperatively breeding laughing kookaburra. Behavioral Ecology and Sociobiology 48:293-302.

Legge S. 2004. Kookaburra: King of the bush. Collingwood, Victoria, Australia: CSIRO Publishing. 117 pp.

Legge S, Cockburn A. 2000. Social and mating system of cooperatively breeding laughing kookaburras (Dacelo novaeguineae). Behavioral Ecology and Sociobiology 47:220-29.

Mayr G. 2005. The Paleogene fossil record of birds in Europe. Biological Review 80:515-542. doi:10.1017/s1464793105006779.

Moloney D, Wormington K, DeStefano S. 2002. Stag retention and use by arboreal marsupials in eucalypt forests of southeast Queensland, Australia: implications for management. USDA Forest Service General Technical Report PSW-GTR-181. Retrieved from: http://www.fs.fed.us/psw/publications/documents/gtr-181/028_Moloney.pdf

Moroney MK, Pettigrew JD. 1987. Some observations on the visual optics of kingfishers (Aves, Coraciiformes, Alcedinidae). Journal of Comparative Physiology 160:137-149.

Mourer-Chauvire C. 1995. Dynamics of the avifauna during the Paleogene and the early Neogene of France. Acta Zoologica Cracoviensia 38:325-342.

Moyle RG. 2006. A molecular phylogeny of kingfishers (Alcedinidae) with insights into early biogeographic history. The Auk 123(2):487-499.

Myers MS. 1996. Laughing kookaburra (Dacelo novaeguinae). North American regional studbook. Audubon Park & Zoological Gardens: New Orleans, Louisiana. pp. 1-47.

Olson SL. 1976. Oligocene fossils bearing on the origins of the Todidae and Momotidae (Aves: Coraciiformes). Smithsonian Contributions to Paleobiology 27:111-119.

Parry V. 1968. Sociality, territoriality and breeding biology of the kookaburra, Dacelo gigas (Boddaert). Clayton, Victoria, Australia: Monash University.

Parry VA. 1970. Kookaburras. New York: Taplinger Publishing Company. 110 pp.

Parry VA. 1973. The auxiliary social system and its effect on territory and breeding in kookaburras. Emu 73:81-100.

Ralph CJ, Ralph CP. 1973. A note on Dacelo gigas. Victorian Naturalist 90:132.

Reed AW. 1998. Aboriginal fables and legendary tales. Sydney, Australia: Reed New Holland Publishers. 144 pp.

Robinson RA. 2005. Bird Facts: profiles of birds occurring in Britain & Ireland (BTO Research Report 407). Retrieved 15 February 2012 from: http://blx1.bto.org/birdfacts/results/bob8310.htm

Schodde R, Tideman SC. 1997. Reader's Digest complete book of Australian birds. Sydney: Readers Digest. pp. 318-319.

Sibley CG, Ahlquist JE. 1990. Phylogeny and classification of birds: a study in molecular evolution. New Haven, Connecticut: Yale University Press.

Smith B. 31 Mar 2011. Kookaburra gets the last laugh. Sydney, Australia: Daily Telegraph. Retrieved 23 May 2012 from http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/kookaburra-gets-the-last-laugh/story-e6freuy9-1226031406207

Smith JL. 1976. Hand-rearing: the breeding and hand-rearing of kookaburras at the Fort Worth Zoo. International Zoo Yearbook 16(1):185-187.

Troup C. 2009. Introduced land birds: kookaburras. Te Ara, the encyclopedia of New Zealand. Retrieved 23 February 2012 from: http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/en/introduced-land-birds/5.

UNEP. 2019. Species+ [online database]. Nairobi, Kenya: UNEP [compiled by UNEP-WCMC, Cambridge, UK]. [accessed 2019 Oct 08]. https://www.speciesplus.net/.

Wexler P. 2012. The laughing kookaburra (Dacelo novaeguineae) and their hand rearing at BirdWorld. Retrieved 17 May 2012 from: http://www.avianrearingresource.co.uk/species/species-detail.php?frmFamilyID=25&frmSubFamilyID=21&frmSpeciesID=29

Woodall PF. 2001. Family Alcedinidae (Kingfishers), Order Coraciiformes. In: Del Hoyo J, Elliott A, Sargatal J. (Eds.). Handbook of the birds of the world. Volume 6. Mousebirds to Hornbills. Barcelona, Spain: Lynx Edicions. pp. 130-203.

Woodall PF. 2019. Laughing Kookaburra (Dacelo novaeguineae). In: del Hoyo J, Elliott A, Sargatal J., Christie DA, de Juana E (eds.). Handbook of the birds of the world alive [Internet]. Barcelona, Spain: Lynx Edicions; [accessed 2019 Apr 10]. https://www.hbw.com/node/55742.

Zanette L, Jenkins B. 2000. Nesting success and nest predators in forest fragments: a study using real and artificial nests. The Auk 1777(2):445-454.

Additional Internet Resources

SDZWA Library Links