Skip to main content
site header image
site header image

ARLIS Hidden Collections: Exxon Valdez
Oil Spill Materials

Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Materials in ARLIS

ARLIS has a plethora of materials on the 1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill and documentation of subsequent events. Most are found in the library catalog, but the following collections of spill-related materials listed below are not. 

These collections are available for use with finding aids described below.  Please ask for assistance from ARLIS staff.

Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Shoreline Surveys

Location: Special Collections

From 1989 through 1993, a series of shoreline surveys were conducted by interagency groups to assess oiling conditions in the spill area. 

These evaluations are organized by survey, geographic area, and shoreline segment number.

Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Photo Collection

Location: locked storage

This collection of more than 2,400 color slides covers the early days of the oil spill and subsequent clean-up efforts. The photographs include oiled wildlife, the tanker leaking oil, public meetings, protests, the Trans-Alaska Pipeline, and Prudhoe Bay.

The photo collection has been digitized in JPEG format, and may be searched, viewed, and downloaded in multiple formats.

Images are public domain and may be copied without infringing on copyright.  There is an index by photo number.

See ARLIS reference staff for assistance.

Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Video Collection

Location: Special Collections

These videos comprise raw footage of the early days of the oil spill, its subsequent clean-up, shoreline evaluations, and many other government-led activities related to the spill.

This footage, in great demand internationally by filmmakers and researchers, may be copied without infringing on copyright.

About half of these videos have been cataloged.  An index to the entire collection is available at SPEC COLL GC1552. P75 A37 1989 and DVD GC1552. P75 A37.

More than 100 of the videos have been digitized; a list of the digitized videos is available via inquiry to reference@arlis.org.

Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Trustee Council Public Record

Location: Beige file cabinets near the file cabinet alcove

The EVOS Trustee Council is charged with managing the funds from the 1991settlement of litigation between the State of Alaska, United States and Exxon. 

This official record documents the Council's decision process as they fund restoration projects, research, and habitat protection in the spill area.

The first drawer contains a paper index by number and topic.  Some items are also available through the library catalog in print and digitally.

Subject Guide