Skip to main content
site header image
site header image

ARLIS Hidden Collections: Water-Related
Collections

Water-Related Collections in ARLIS

The following collections of materials relate to water in some way.  All are available for use with finding aids described below. Please ask for assistance from ARLIS staff.

Source Water Assessments

Location: Special Collections

Source Water Assessments provide water quality information about public water systems and indicate the level of contamination risk to these water systems from potential or existing contaminant sources.

These reports can be used by local governments and community groups to decide where efforts are needed to protect sources of public drinking water from contamination.

The reports are shelved alphabetically by geographic area.

More information about the Source Water Assessments is available from this Fact Sheet and the state of Alaska.

Wild and Scenic Rivers

Location: lateral files across from Special Collections

This multi-agency collection includes original files and photographs documenting selection of rivers for the Wild and Scenic River System. The collection includes candidate rivers as well as those selected.

It is organized geographically by river; photos include river segment breakdown details.

A RefWorks index to collection is available. See an ARLIS reference librarian for assistance with this collection.

Sea Ice

Location: fiche cabinet near east entrance to ARLIS

NOAA compiled this collection of maps dating 1972-2004 (but incomplete) showing extent of sea ice in Northern Alaska, and sea ice analyses. The Climate Data dates back to the 1950s.

The fiche is organized by geographic area and date.

Subject Guide