Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance logo
San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library logo

Burmese Star Tortoise (Geochelone platynota) Fact Sheet: Bibliography & Resources

Bibliography

Altherr S, Freyer D. 2000. Asian turtles are threatened by extinction. Turt Tortoise Newsl Chelonian Res Found. 1(1):7–11.

Aye T, Minn AZ. 2019. The gut passage time in Myanmar Star Tortoise (Geochelone platynota) and its role for seed dispersal. Mandalay, Myanmar: Yadanabon University.

Blyth E. 1863. A collection of sundries from different parts of Burma. J Asiat Soc Bengal. 32:78–90.

Bonin F, Devaux B, Depré A. 2006. Geochelone platynota. In: Pritchard PCH, translator. Turtles of the world. Baltimore (MD): Johns Hopkins University Press. p. 225.

Das I. 1997. Conservation problems of tropical Asia’s most threatened turtles. In: Abbema JV, Pritchard PCH, Dohm, Suzanne, Klemens MW, editors. Proceedings: conservation, restoration, and management of tortoises and turtles — an international conference. New York (NY): New York Turtle and Tortoise Society. p. 295–301.

van Dijk PP. 1997. Turtle conservation in Myanmar: past, present, and future. In: Abbema JV, Pritchard PCH, Dohm S, Klemens MW, editors. Proceedings: conservation, restoration, and management of tortoises and turtles — an international conference. New York (NY): New York Turtle and Tortoise Society and the WCS Turtle Recovery Program. p. 265–271.

Ernst CH, Barbour RW. 1989. Geochelone platynota (Blyth, 1963), Burmese Star Tortoise. In: Turtles of the world. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press. p. 248.

Highfield AC. 1996. Keeping and breeding tortoises and freshwater turtles. London: Carapace Press (The Tortoise Trust). p. 295.

ITIS (Integrated Taxonomic Information System) [Internet database]. 2022. Geochelone platynota. TSN 551781. [accessed 2022 Feb 11]. https://www.itis.gov/.

Johnson AJ, Pessier AP, Wellehan JFX, Childress A, Norton TM, Stedman NL, Bloom DC, Belzer W, Titus VR, Wagner R, et al. 2008. Ranavirus infection of free-ranging and captive box turtles and tortoises in the United States. J Wildl Dis. 44(4):851–863. doi:10.7589/0090-3558-44.4.851.

Klemens MW, Thorbjarnarson JB. 1995. Reptiles as a food resource. Biodivers Conserv. 4(3):281–298. doi:10.1007/BF00055974.

Kuchling G, Goode E, Praschag P. 2011. Endoscopic imaging of gonads, sex ratio and temperature dependent sex determination in captive bred juvenile Burmese Star Tortoises Geochelone platynota. Asian Herpetol Res. 2(4):240–244. doi:10.3724/SP.J.1245.2011.00240.

Le M, Raxworthy CJ, McCord WP, Mertz L. 2006. A molecular phylogeny of tortoises (Testudines: Testudinidae) based on mitochondrial and nuclear genes. Mol Phylogenet Evol. 40(2):517–531. doi:10.1016/j.ympev.2006.03.003.

Moll EO. 1989. Geochelone platynota Burmese Star Tortoise. In: Swingland IR, Klemens MW, editors. The conservation biology of tortoises. Gland (Switzerland): International Union for the Conservation of Nature. (Occasional Papers of the IUCN Species Survival Commission (SSC)). p. 115. [accessed 2022 Jan 18]. https://portals.iucn.org/library/node/6487.

Platt Kalyar, Platt SG, Khaing LL, Yu TT, New SS, Ko WK, Myo KM, Moe K, Soe MM, Lwin T, et al. 2014. Star Tortoise Handbook for Myanmar: conservation status, captive husbandry, and reintroduction. Proceedings of a workshop; Lawkanandar Wildlife Sanctuary, Bagan, Myanmar. Bronx (NY): Wildlife Conservation Society.

Platt K, Platt SG, Soe MM, Ko WK, Khin MM, Lwin T, Moe K. 2015. Notable victories in the fight to save Myanmar’s critically endangered turtles. Turt Surviv. 2015:28–32.

Platt K., Platt SG, Soe MM, Ko WK, Myo KM, Lwin T, Moe K. 2014. TSA/WCS Team strives to save Myanmar’s critically endangered turtles. Turt Surviv. 2014:45–48.

Platt SG. 2001a. Further investigation into the conservation status and biology of the star tortoise (Geochelone platynota) at two sites in Myanmar. Bronx (NY): Wildlife Conservation Society.

Platt SG. 2001b. An investigation into the conservation status of Kachuga trivittata and other turtles of the upper Ayeyarwady and Dokthawady (Myitnge) Rivers, Myanmar. Bronx (NY): Wildlife Conservation Society.

Platt SG, Khiang ST, Ko WK, Kaylar. 2001. A tortoise survey of Shwe Settaw Wildlife Sanctuary, Myanmar, with notes on the ecology of Geochelone platynota and Indotestudo elongata. Chelonian Conserv Biol. 4(1):172–177.

Platt SG, Ko WK, Khaing LL, Myo KM, Swe T, Kalyar, Rainwater TR. 2004. Recent records and comments on the distribution and conservation status of Geochelone platynota (Blyth, 1863) in the Dry Zone of central Myanmar. Hamadryad. 29:128–131.

Platt SG, Ko WK, Khaing LL, Myo KM, Swe T, Lwin T, Rainwater TR. 2003. Population status and conservation of the critically endangered Burmese Star Tortoise Geochelone platynota in Central Myanmar. Oryx. 37(04). doi:10.1017/S0030605303000838.

Platt SG, Ko WK, Kyaw NW. 2018. A conservation assessment of the critically endangered Burmese Star Tortoise in Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary, Myanmar. Bronx (NY): Wildlife Conservation Society. [accessed 2021 Nov 24]. https://library.wcs.org/doi/ctl/view/mid/33065/pubid/PUB24159.aspx.

Platt SG, Ko WK, Platt K. 2000. Exploitation and conservation status of tortoises and freshwater turtles in Myanmar. In: van Dijk PP, Stuart BL, Rhodin A, editors. Asian turtle trade: proceedings of a workshop on conservation and trade of freshwater turtles and tortoises in Asia. First. Lunenburg (MA): Chelonian Research Foundation. (Chelonian Research Monographs). p. 95–100. [accessed 2021 Dec 17]. https://chelonian.org/crm/crm-2/.

Platt SG, Lwin T, Platt K, Elsey RM, Rainwater TR. 2019. Geochelone platynota (Burmese Star Tortoise). Maximum body size and giantism. Herpetol Rev. 50(1):121–123.

Platt SG, Naing Aung SH, Soe MM, Lwin T, Platt K, Walde AD, Rainwater TR. 2021. Predation on translocated Burmese Star Tortoise (Geochelone platynota) by Asiatic jackals (Canis aureus) and wild pigs (Sus scrofa) at a wildlife sanctuary in Myanmar. Chelonian Conserv Biol. 20(1). doi:10.2744/CCB-1461.1.

Platt SG, Platt K. 2017. Progress continues in the fight to save Myanmar’s critically endangered turtles. Turt Surviv. 2017:38–43.

Platt SG, Platt K. 2020. The road to recovery: restoring the Burmese Star Tortoise as a functional member of Dry Zone ecosystems in Myanmar. Radiata. 29:4–25.

Platt SG, Platt K. 2021. Turtles thrive despite turmoil. Turt Surviv. 2021:46–49.

Platt SG, Platt K, Khiang LL, Yu TT, Aung SH, San San NE, Soe M, Khin M, Win K, Aung SH, et al. 2017. Back from the brink: ex-situ conservation and recovery of the critically endangered Burmese Star Tortoise (Geochelone platynota) in Myanmar. Herpetol Rev. 48(3):570–575.

Platt SG, Swe T, Ko WK, Platt K, Myo KM, Rainwater TR, Emmett D. 2011. Geochelone platynota (Blyth 1863) – Burmese Star Tortoise, Kye Leik. In: Rhodin A, Pritchard P, van Dijk PP, Saumure R, Buhlmann K, Iverson J, Mittermeier R, editors. Conservation biology of freshwater turtles and tortoises: a compilation project of the IUCN/SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group. First. Lunenburg (MA): Chelonian Research Foundation. (Chelonian Research Monographs). p. 1–9. [accessed 2021 Nov 24]. https://doi.org/10.3854/crm.5.057.platynota.v1.2011.

Praschag P, Platt K, Horne BD. 2020. Burmese star tortoise, Geochelone platynota. The IUCN red list of threatened species [Internet]. Version 2021-3; e.T9013A123815185 [assessed 2018 Mar 14; accessed 2021 Dec 14]. doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2020-2.RLTS.T9013A123815185.en.

Pritchard PCH. 1979. Encyclopedia of turtles. Neptune (NJ): T.F.H. Publications Inc.

Rao M, Saw Htun, Platt SG, Tizard R, Poole C, Than Myint, Watson JEM. 2013. Biodiversity conservation in a changing climate: a review of threats and implications for conservation planning in Myanmar. AMBIO. 42(7):789–804. doi:10.1007/s13280-013-0423-5.

Raphael BL, Macey SK, Platt SG, Seimon TA, Ossiboff RJ, Horne BD, Gamarra AL, Barrera MG, Lwin T, Soe MM, et al. 2019. Health screening of Burmese Star Tortoises (Geochelone platynota) prior to introduction to the wild. Chelonian Conserv Biol. 18(2):153. doi:10.2744/CCB-1353.1.

Robbins RG, Platt SG. 2000. First report of Amblyomma clypeolatum Neumann (Acari: Ixodida: Ixodidae) from the Union of Myanmar, with two new records from tortoises. Proc Entomol Soc Wash. 102(1):225–226.

Roberts TD, Matthews JM, McMorris DS, Parachini KE, Raiford WN, Townsend C. 1968. Area handbook for Burma. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office. https://books.google.com/books?id=ooi7hjQS-FcC&dq=area+handbook+for+burma&lr=&source=gbs_navlinks_s.

Smith MA. 1931. Testudo platyota. In: The Fauna of British India, including Ceylon and Burma. Reptilia and Amphibia. Vol. 1, Loricata, Testudines. London (England): Taylor & Francis Ltd. p. 140–141.

Soe MM, New SS, Platt SG, Rainwater TR. 2016. Geochelone platynota (Burmese Star Tortoise): scavenging. Herpetol Rev. 47(3):444–445.

Stanford CB, Iverson JB, Rhodin AGJ, Paul van Dijk P, Mittermeier RA, Kuchling G, Berry KH, Bertolero A, Bjorndal KA, Blanck TEG, et al. 2020. Turtles and tortoises are in trouble. Curr Biol. 30(12):R721–R735. doi:10.1016/j.cub.2020.04.088.

Thant Myint-U. 2006. The river of lost footsteps: histories of Burma. New York (NY): Farrar, Starus, and Giroux; 361 pp.

Thanda Swe. 2004. Autecology of the Myanmar star tortoise, Geochelone platynota (Blyth, 1863). Ph.D. Dissertation, University of Mandalay, Myanmar. 122 pp.

Theobald W. 1868. Catalogue of the reptiles of British Birma, embracing the provinces of Pegu, Martaban, and Tenasserim; with descriptions of new or little-known species. J Linn Soc Lond Zool. 10(41):4–67. doi:10.1111/j.1096-3642.1868.tb02007.x.

Turtle Conservation Coalition [Stanford CB, Rhodin AGJ, Dijk PP, Horne BD, Blanck T, Goode EV, Hudson R, Mittermeier RA, Currylow A, Eisemberg C, et al., eds.]. 2018. Turtles in trouble: the world’s 25+ most endangered tortoises and freshwater turtles - 2018. Ojai (CA): IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group, Turtle Conservancy, Turtle Survival Alliance, Turtle Conservation Fund, Chelonian Research Foundation, Conservation International, Wildlife Conservation Society, and Global Wildlife Conservation; 80 pp.

Turtle Conservation Fund. 2002. A global action plan for conservation of tortoises and freshwater turtles: strategy and funding prospectus, 2002–2007. Washington, D.C.: Conservation International and Chelonian Research Foundation. https://portals.iucn.org/library/sites/library/files/documents/2002-049.pdf.

Turtle Taxonomy Working Group [Rhodin, AGJ, Iverson, JB, Bour R, Fritz U, Georges A, Shaffer HB, van Dijk PP]. 2021. Turtles of the world, 9th edition: annotated checklist and atlas of taxonomy, synonymy, distribution, and conservation status. In: Rhodin AGJ, Iverson JB, van Dijk PP, Stanford CB, Goode EV, Buhlmann KA, and Mittermeier RA, editors. Conservation biology of freshwater turtles and tortoises: a compilation project of the IUCN/SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group. Chelonian Research Monographs 8: 1-472. doi:10.3854/crm.8.checklist.atlas.v9.2021.

UNEP. 2021. Geochelone platynota. Species+ [online database]. Nairobi, Kenya: UNEP [compiled by UNEP-WCMC, Cambridge, UK]; [accessed 2021 Dec 17]. https://www.speciesplus.net/species#/taxon_concepts/6341/legal.

ZIMS (Zoological Information Management System). 2022. [updated 2022 Jan 24; accessed 02 Feb 2022]. https://www.species360.org/.

Additional Internet Resources

Burmese Star Tortoise

Burmese star tortoise hatchling

Juvenile Burmese Star Tortoise

Image credit: © San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance. All rights reserved.

Evidence for Hope

Burmese Star Tortoise hatched in the wild

A Burmese Star Tortoise hatched in the wild.

Image credit: Swann Htet Naing Aung, © WCS/TSA Myanmar Turtle Program. All rights reserved. Used with permission.

SDZWA Library Links