Skip to main content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Chinese Giant Salamanders (Andrias spp.) Fact Sheet: Bibliography & Resources

Bibliography

AnAge: the animal ageing and longevity database [Internet database]. 2019. Andrias davidianus. HAGRID 00121. [last updated 2017 Oct 14; accessed 2019 May 22]. https://genomics.senescence.info/species/entry.php?species=Andrias_davidianus.

Beoleons B, Watkins M, Grayson M. 2013. David. In: The eponym dictionary of amphibians. Exeter (UK): Pelagic Publishing. p. 52.

Browne RK, Li H, Wang Z, Okada S, Hime P, McMillan A, Wu M, Diaz R, McGinnity D, Briggler JT. 2014. The giant salamanders (Cryptobranchidae): Part B. Biogeography, ecology and reproduction. Amphib Reptile Conserv. 5(4):30–50.

Chen S, Cunningham AA, Wei G, Yang J, Liang Z, Wang J, Wu M, Yan F, Xiao H, Harrison XA, et al. 2018. Determining threatened species distributions in the face of limited data: Spatial conservation prioritization for the Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus). Ecol Evol. 8(6):3098–3108. doi:10.1002/ece3.3862.

Chen X. 1989. Amphibia and Reptilia. In: Economic Fauna of Qinghai; Xining DL, editor. Northwest Plateau Institute of Biology Qinghai, China; p. 173-227. [In Chinese].

Chen Z, Gui J, Gao X, Pei C, Hong Y, Zhang Q. 2013. Genome architecture changes and major gene variations of Andrias davidianus ranavirus (ADRV). Vet Res. 44(1):101. doi:10.1186/1297-9716-44-101.

Chen Z-Y, Li T, Gao X-C, Wang C-F, Zhang Q-Y. 2018. Protective immunity induced by DNA vaccination against ranavirus infection in Chinese giant salamander Andrias davidianus. Viruses. 10(2):52. doi:10.3390/v10020052.

Cheng W. 1998. The ecological and behavioural research of Andrias davidianus and its protection. Russ J Herpetol. 5(1):2–4.

Crump M. 2015. Eye of newt and toe of frog, adder’s fork and lizard’s leg. Chicago (IL): The University of Chicago Press.

Cundall D, Lorenz-Elwood J, Groves JD. 1987. Asymmetric suction feeding in primitive salamanders. Experientia. 43(11–12):1229–1231. doi:10.1007/BF01945537.

Cunningham AA, Turvey ST, Zhou F, Meredith HMR, Guan W, Liu X, Sun C, Wang Z, Wu M. 2016. Development of the Chinese giant salamander Andrias davidianus farming industry in Shaanxi Province, China: conservation threats and opportunities. Oryx. 50(02):265–273. doi:10.1017/S0030605314000842.

Dai Q, Wang Y, Liang G. 2010. Conservation status of Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus). Yi W, translator. Chengdu, Sichuan Province, People’s Republic of China: Chengdu Institute of Biology, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Dong W, Zhang X, Yang C, An J, Qin J, Song F, Zeng W. 2011. Iridovirus infection in Chinese giant salamanders, China, 2010. Emerg Infect Dis. 17(12):2388–2389. doi:10.3201/eid1712.101758.

Duan R-Y, Kong X-Q, Huang M-Y, Varela S, Ji X. 2016. The potential effects of climate change on amphibian distribution, range fragmentation and turnover in China. PeerJ. 4:e2185. doi:10.7717/peerj.2185.

Fei L, Hu S, Ye S, Huang Y. 2006. Fauna sinica (Amphibia I). Beijing, China: Science Press.

Fortuny J, Marcé-Nogué J, Heiss E, Sanchez M, Gil L, Galobart À. 2015. 3D bite modeling and feeding mechanics of the largest living amphibian, the Chinese giant salamander Andrias davidianus (Amphibia:Urodela). Jeffery N, editor. PLoS ONE. 10(4):e0121885. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0121885.

Frost DR. 2019. Amphibian species of the world: an online reference [electronic database]. Version 6.0 (2019 Mar 27). New York (NY): American Museum of Natural History. http://research.amnh.org/vz/herpetology/amphibia/index.php//Amphibia/Caudata/Cryptobranchidae/Andrias/Andrias-davidianus.

Fukumoto S, Ushimaru A, Minamoto T. 2015. A basin-scale application of environmental DNA assessment for rare endemic species and closely related exotic species in rivers: a case study of giant salamanders in Japan. J Appl Ecol. 52(2):358–365. doi:10.1111/1365-2664.12392.

Gao K-Q, Shubin NH. 2003. Earliest known crown-group salamanders. Nature. 422(6930):424–428. doi:10.1038/nature01491.

Geng Y, James Gray M, Wang K, Chen D, Ouyang P, Huang X, He C, Zhong Z, Yang Z. 2016. Pathological changes in Andrias davidianus infected with Chinese giant salamander ranavirus. Asian Herpetol Res. 7:258–264.

Geng Y, Wang KY, Zhou ZY, Li CW, Wang J, He M, Yin ZQ, Lai WM. 2011. First report of a ranavirus associated with morbidity and mortality in farmed Chinese giant salamanders (Andrias davidianus). J Comp Pathol. 145(1):95–102. doi:10.1016/j.jcpa.2010.11.012.

Haitao S, Parham JF, Lau M, Tien-Hsu C. 2007. Farming endangered turtles to extinction in China. Conserv Biol. 21(1):5–6. doi:10.1111/j.1523-1739.2006.00622.x.

Haker K. 1997. Haltung und Zucht des Chinesischen Riesensalamanders Andrias davidianus. Salamandra. 33:69–74.

He D, Zhu W, Zeng W, Lin J, Ji Y, Wang Y, Zhang C, Lu Y, Zhao D, Su N, et al. 2018. Nutritional and medicinal characteristics of Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus) for applications in healthcare industry by artificial cultivation: a review. Food Sci Hum Wellness. 7(1):1–10. doi:10.1016/j.fshw.2018.03.001.

Heiss E, Natchev N, Gumpenberger M, Weissenbacher A, Van Wassenbergh S. 2013. Biomechanics and hydrodynamics of prey capture in the Chinese giant salamander reveal a high-performance jaw-powered suction feeding mechanism. J R Soc Interface. 10(82):20121028. doi:10.1098/rsif.2012.1028.

Hong C, Guo-Hua Y, Heatwole H. 2000. Ultrastructure of the skin mechanoreceptors of the Chinese giant salamander, Andrias davidianus. J Morphol. 245:80–85.

Hong C, Shi-Qiang H, Heatwole H. 1995. Ampullary organs, pit organs, and neuromasts of the Chinese giant salamander, Andrias davidianus. J Morphol. 226(2):149–157. doi:10.1002/jmor.1052260204.

Isaac NJB, Redding DW, Meredith HM, Safi K. 2012. Phylogenetically-informed priorities for amphibian conservation. Fisher MC, editor. PLoS ONE. 7(8):e43912. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0043912.

ITIS (Integrated Taxonomic Information System) [Internet database]. 2019. Andrias davidianus. TSN 202085. [accessed 2019 Mar 27]. https://www.itis.gov/.

Ke F, Gui J-F, Chen Z-Y, Li T, Lei C-K, Wang Z-H, Zhang Q-Y. 2018. Divergent transcriptomic responses underlying the ranaviruses-amphibian interaction processes on interspecies infection of Chinese giant salamander. BMC Genomics. 19(1):211. doi:10.1186/s12864-018-4596-y.

Laidler L, Laidler K. 1996. Giant salamander. In: China’s threatened wildlife. London (England). p. 104–106.

Liang F, Wu G. 2010. The activity rhythm and reproductive behaviors of Andrias davidianus. Chin J Zool. 2010(1):12.

Liang G, Geng B, Zhao E. 2004. Andrias davidianus. The IUCN red list of threatened species. Version 2018.2; e.T1272A3375181 (species assessed 2004 Apr 30; page accessed 2019 Mar 27). doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2004.RLTS.T1272A3375181.en.

Liang Z, Chen W, Wang D, Zhang S, Wang C, He S, Wu Y, He P, Xie J, Li C, et al. 2019. Phylogeographic patterns and conservation implications of the endangered Chinese giant salamander. Ecol Evol. 9(7):3879–3890. doi:10.1002/ece3.5014.

Liu C-C. 1950. Megalobatrachus davidianus Blanchard. In: Amphibians of western China (Fieldiana: zoology memoirs, vol. 2). Chicago (IL): Chicago Natural History Museum. p. 69–77.

Liu G, Liu Q. 1998. Andrias davidianus Blanchard, 1871. In: Sung W, editor; Ermi Z, translator. China red data book of endangered animals: Amphibia and Reptilia. Beijing (China): Science Press. p. 30–33.

Liu G, Tang H. 1989. The biological observations and a primary study of culture on larvae of Megalobatrachus davidanus Blanchard. In: Current herpetology in East Asia: proceedings of the second Japan-China herpetological symposium (Matsui M, Hikida T, Goris RC, editors). Kyoto (Japan): Herpetological Society of Japan; p. 26-33.

Luo Q, Liu Y, Zhang L, Chen G, Kang L. 2009. Investigation on resources of Chinese giant salamander in Zhangjiajie City. Sichuan J Zool. 28(3):422–436.

Luo Q, Song Y, Hu X, Zhu S, Wang H, Ji H. 2018. Effects of tourism disturbance on habitat quality and population size of the Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus). Wildl Res. 45(5):411–420. doi:10.1071/WR17092.

Luo Q, Tong F, Song Y, Wang H, Du M, Ji H. 2018. Observation of the breeding behavior of the Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus) using a digital monitoring system. Animals. 8(10):161. doi:10.3390/ani8100161.

Maslin TP. 1950. The production of sound in caudate Amphibia. Ser Biol. 4:29–45.

Matsui M, Tominaga A, Liu W, Tanaka-Ueno T. 2008. Reduced genetic variation in the Japanese giant salamander, Andrias japonicus (Amphibia: Caudata). Mol Phylogenet Evol. 49(1):318–326. doi:10.1016/j.ympev.2008.07.020.

Meng Y, Ma J, Jiang N, Zeng L-B, Xiao H-B. 2014. Pathological and microbiological findings from mortality of the Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus). Arch Virol. 159(6):1403–1412. doi:10.1007/s00705-013-1962-6.

Meng Y, Tian H, Hu Q, Liang H, Zeng L, Xiao H. 2018. MicroRNA repertoire and comparative analysis of Andrias davidianus infected with ranavirus using deep sequencing. Dev Comp Immunol. 85:108–114. doi:10.1016/j.dci.2018.04.002.

Meng Y, Zhang Y, Liang HW, Xiao HB, Xie CX. 2012. Genetic diversity of Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus) based on the novel microsatellite markers. Russ J Genet. 48(12):1227–1231. doi:10.1134/S102279541212006X.

Montgomery JC, Windsor S, Bassett D. 2009. Behavior and physiology of mechanoreception: separating signal and noise. Integr Zool. 4(1):3–12. doi:10.1111/j.1749-4877.2008.00130.x.

Murphy RW, Fu J, Upton DE, De Lema T, Zhao E-M. 2000. Genetic variability among endangered Chinese giant salamanders, Andrias davidianus. Mol Ecol. 9(10):1539–1547. doi:10.1046/j.1365-294x.2000.01036.x.

Nickerson MA. 2004. Asiatic giant salamanders and hellbenders (Cryptobranchidae). In: Hutchins M, Evans AV, Jackson JA, Kleiman DG, Murphy JB, Thoney DA, editors. Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd Ed. Vol. 6. Gale Publishing. p. 343–347. [accessed 2019 May 21]. http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3406700386/GVRL?u=san99045&sid=GVRL&xid=28942421.

Olshanskii VM, Baron VD, Wei X. 2016. Electrical discharges in Chinese salamander Andrias davidianus. Dokl Biochem Biophys. 471(1):447–449. doi:10.1134/S1607672916060193.

Pan Y, Wei G, Cunningham AA, Li S, Chen S, Milner-Gulland EJ, Turvey ST. 2016. Using local ecological knowledge to assess the status of the Critically Endangered Chinese giant salamander Andrias davidianus in Guizhou Province, China. Oryx. 50(02):257–264. doi:10.1017/S0030605314000830.

Pierson TW, Yan F, Wang Y, Papenfuss T. 2014. A survey for the Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus; Blanchard, 1871) in the Qinghai Province. Amphib Reptile Conserv. 8(1):e74.

Roelants K, Gower DJ, Wilkinson M, Loader SP, Biju SD, Guillaume K, Moriau L, Bossuyt F. 2007. Global patterns of diversification in the history of modern amphibians. Proc Natl Acad Sci. 104(3):887–892. doi:10.1073/pnas.0608378104.

San Diego Zoo Global. 2018. Giant salamander: partners to prevent wildlife trafficking. In: ZooView (January 2018) (Lynn B, editor). San Diego (CA): San Diego Zoo Global; p. 3.

Shu-Cheng L, Dong-Feng L, Jin-Chang J. 1990. Call and skin glands secretion induced by stimulation of midbrain in urodele (Andrias davidianus). Brain Res. 528(1):159–161. doi:10.1016/0006-8993(90)90211-S.

Song M. 1989. The study of growth in the Chinese giant salamander. In: Current herpetology in East Asia: proceedings of the second Japan-China herpetological symposium (Matsui M, Hikida T, Goris RC, editors). Kyoto (Japan): Herpetological Society of Japan; p. 370-373.

Sowerby, A. 1925. A naturalist’s notebook in China. Shanghi: North-China Daily News & Herald, Ltd.

Stott K (ed). What’s new. Nov 1948. ZOONOOZ, Vol. XII (No. 11); p. 7.

Su H, Yu L, Ma J. 2009. Population status and history dynamics of wild Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus) in Yanxia Natural Reserve in Guizhou province, China. Resour Environ Yangtze Basin. 18(7):652–657.

Su S, Wang Y, Wang H, Huang W, Chen J, Xing J, Xu P, Yuan X, Huang C, Zhou Y. 2018. Comparative expression analysis identifies the respiratory transition-related miRNAs and their target genes in tissues of metamorphosing Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus). BMC Genomics. 19(1):406. doi:10.1186/s12864-018-4662-5.

Tao F, Wang X, Zheng H, Fang S. 2005. Genetic structure and geographic subdivision of four populations of the Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus). Zool Res. 26(2):162–167.

Tapley B, Chen S, Turvey ST, Redbond J, Okada S, Cunningham AA. 2017. A sustainable future for Chinese giant salamanders: Chinese giant salamander field survey manual. London (England): Zoological Society of London.

Tapley B, Okada S, Redbond J, Turvey ST, Chen S, Lu J-C, Wei G, Wu M-Y, Pan Y, Niu K-F, et al. 2015. Failure to detect the Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus) in Fanjingshan National Nature Reserve, Guizhou Province, China. Salamandra. 51(2):206–208.

Turvey ST, Chen S, Tapley B, Wei G, Xie F, Yan F, Yang J, Liang Z, Tian H, Wu M, et al. 2018. Imminent extinction in the wild of the world’s largest amphibian. Curr Biol. 28(10):R592–R594. doi:10.1016/j.cub.2018.04.005.

Turvey ST, Marr MM, Barnes I, Brace S, Tapley B, Murphy RW, Zhao E, Cunningham AA. 2019. Historical museum collections clarify the evolutionary history of cryptic species radiation in the world’s largest amphibians. Ecol. Evol. Forthcoming 2019 (accepted 2019 Apr 03). doi:10.1002/ece3.5257.

UNEP. 2019. Andrias davidianus. Species+ [online database]. Nairobi, Kenya: UNEP [compiled by UNEP-WCMC, Cambridge, UK]. [accessed 2019 Mar 27]. https://www.speciesplus.net/#/taxon_concepts/9520/legal.

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. 2019. Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus). ECOS: Environmental Conservation Online System [Internet database]. Washington D.C.: U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service [accessed 2019 Mar 27]. https://ecos.fws.gov/ecp0/profile/speciesProfile;jsessionid=911477DD9613843F8632F3DA6F2C9AE1?spcode=D007.

Wang C, Zhou Y-L, Zhu Q-H, Zhou Z-K, Gu W-B, Liu Z-P, Wang L-Z, Shu M-A. 2018. Effects of heat stress on the liver of the Chinese giant salamander Andrias davidianus: Histopathological changes and expression characterization of Nrf2-mediated antioxidant pathway genes. J Therm Biol. 76:115–125. doi:10.1016/j.jtherbio.2018.07.016.

Wang J. 2015. Current status of Japanese giant salamander and the enlightenment on the conservation of Chinese giant salamander. Chin J Appl Environ Biol. 21(4):683–688. doi:10.3724/SP.J.1145.2014.10025.

Wang J, Zhang H, XIE F, Wei G, Jiang J. 2017. Genetic bottlenecks of the wild Chinese giant salamander in Karst Caves. Asian Herpetol Res. 8(3):174–183. doi:10.16373/j.cnki.ahr.170038.

Wang X, Zhang K, Wang Z, Ding Y, Wu W, Huang S. 2004. The decline of the Chinese giant salamander Andrias davidianus and implications for its conservation. Oryx. 38(2):197–202. doi:10.1017/S0030605304000341.

Wiens. 2007. Global patterns of diversification and species richness in amphibians. Am Nat. 170(2):S86. doi:10.2307/4541092.

Wiens JJ, Bonett RM, Chippindale PT, Anderson F (Andy). 2005. Ontogeny discombobulates phylogeny: paedomorphosis and higher-level salamander relationships. Syst Biol. 54(1):91–110. doi:10.1080/10635150590906037.

Xiao H-B, Liu J-Y, Yang Y-Q, Lin X-Z. 2006. Artificial propagation of tank-cultured Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus). Acta Hydrobiol Sin. 30(5):533–539.

Yan F, Lü J, Zhang B, Yuan Z, Zhao H, Huang S, Wei G, Mi X, Zou D, Xu W, et al. 2018. The Chinese giant salamander exemplifies the hidden extinction of cryptic species. Curr Biol. 28(10):R590–R592. doi:10.1016/j.cub.2018.04.004.

Yang C, Gao H, Gao Y, Yang Changming, Dong W. 2018. Bacteria in abnormal eggs of Chinese giant salamanders (Andrias davidianus) may derive from gut. Zoolog Sci. 35(4):314–320. doi:10.2108/zs180013.

Yang H, Li X, Song W, Ji J, Li F, Zhang Y, Zhang X, Wang L. 2018. Involvement of a short-type peptidoglycan recognition protein (PGRP) from Chinese giant salamanders Andrias davidianus in the immune response against bacterial infection. Dev Comp Immunol. 88:37–44. doi:10.1016/j.dci.2018.07.008.

Zhang KJ, Wang XM, Wu W, Wang ZH, Huang S. 2002. Advances in conservation biology of Chinese giant salamander. Biodivers Sci. 10(3):291–297.

Zhang L, Jiang W, Wang Q-J, Zhao H, Zhang H-X, Marcec RM, Willard ST, Kouba AJ. 2016. Reintroduction and post-release survival of a living fossil: the Chinese giant salamander. Criscuolo F, editor. PLOS ONE. 11(6):e0156715. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0156715.

Zhang L, Kouba A, Wang Q, Zhao H, Jiang W, Willard S, Zhang H. 2014. The effect of water temperature on the growth of captive Chinese giant salamanders (Andrias davidianus) reared for reintroduction: a comparison with wild salamander body condition. Herpetologica. 70(4):369–377. doi:10.1655/HERPETOLOGICA-D-14-00011R1.

Zhang L, Wang Q, Willard ST, Jiang W, Zhang H, Zhao H, Kouba AJ. 2017. Environmental characteristics associated with settlement of reintroduced Chinese giant salamanders. J Herpetol. 51(3):417–424. doi:10.1670/16-106.

Zhang M, Gaughan S, Chang Q, Chen H, Lu G, Wang X, Xu L, Zhu L, Jiang J. 2018. Age-related changes in the gut microbiota of the Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus). MicrobiologyOpen:e778. doi:10.1002/mbo3.778.

Zhao E-M, Adler K. 1993. Herpetology of China. St. Louis (MI): Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles.

Zheng H, Wang X. 2010. Telemetric data reveals ecologically adaptive behavior of captive raised Chinese giant salamanders when reintroduced into their native habitat. Asian Herpetol Res. 1(1):31–35. doi:10.3724/SP.J.1245.2010.00031.

Zhou ZY, Geng Y, Liu XX, Ren SY, Zhou Y, Wang KY, Huang XL, Chen DF, Peng X, Lai WM. 2013. Characterization of a ranavirus isolated from the Chinese giant salamander (Andrias davidianus, Blanchard, 1871) in China. Aquaculture. 384–387:66–73. doi:10.1016/j.aquaculture.2012.12.018.

ZIMS (Zoological Information Management System). 2019. [updated 2018 Dec 01; accessed 2019 May 21]. https://www.species360.org/.

Zoological Society of San Diego. 1970. Inventories and annual reports, Reptile Department, 1922-1969. Zoological Society of San Diego Archives [accessed 2019 May 28].

Zoological Society of San Diego. 1980. Inventories and annual reports, Reptile Department, 1970-1979. Zoological Society of San Diego Archives [accessed 2019 May 28].

Additional Internet Resources

Can You See Me?

Skin of a Chinese giant salamander, San Diego Zoo

A Chinese giant salamander's spotted skin helps it to camouflage with rocks in a stream.

Image credit: © San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

SDZG Library Links