Skip to main content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Radjah Shelduck (Rajah rajah) Fact Sheet: Bibliography & Resources

Bibliography

Birdlife International. 2016. Radjah radjah. The IUCN red list of threatened species. Version 2018.1; e.T22680029A92839434 (species assessed 2016 Oct 01; page accessed 2018 Oct 02). doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2016-3.RLTS.T22680029A92839434.en.

British Ornithologists’ Union. 1986. 94. Tadorna radjah (Lesson) 1828. In: White CMN, Bruce MD, editors. The birds of Wallacea: Sulawesi, the Moluccas & Lesser Sunda Islands, Indonesia). London (England): British Ornithologists’ Union. (B.O.U. Checklist). p. 137–138.

Broinowski GJ. 1890. The birds of Australia, comprising three hundred full page illustrations with a descriptive account of the life and characteristic habits of over seven hundred species. Melbourne (Australia): Charles Stuart & Co. [accessed 2018 Oct 31]. http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/bibliography/77352.

Callaghan DA, Green AJ. 1993. Wildfowl at Risk, 1993. Wildfowl. 44:149–169.

Carboneras C, Kirwan GM. 2018. Radjah Shelduck (Radjah radjah). In: del Hoyo J, Elliott A, Sargatal J, Christie DA, de Juana E, editors. Handbook of the birds of the world alive. Barcelona (Spain): Lynx Edicions; [accessed 2018 Sep 28]. https://www.hbw.com/species/radjah-shelduck-radjah-radjah.

Coates BJ. 1985. White-headed Shelduck Tadorna radjah. In: The birds of Papua New Guinea: including the Bismark Archipelago and Bougainville (volume I: non-passerines). Alderley (Queensland): Dove Publications. p. 98–99.

Department of the Environment. 2018. Tadorna radjah—Radjah Shelduck. Species profile and threats database [Internet]. Canberra: Department of the Environment (Australian Government); [accessed 2018 Nov 11]. http://www.environment.gov.au/cgi-bin/sprat/public/publicspecies.pl?taxon_id=970.

Diggles S. 1877. Companion to Gould’s handbook; or, synopsis of the birds of Australia. Containing nearly one-third of the whole, or about 220 examples, for the most part from the original drawings. Brisbane: Thorne & Greenwell. [accessed 2018 Oct 31]. http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/bibliography/50498.

Draffan RDW, Garnett ST, Malone GJ. 1983. Birds of the Torres Strait: an annotated list and biogeographical analysis. Emu. 83(4):207–234. doi:10.1071/MU9830207.

Duperrey L-I. 1825. Voyage autour du monde : exécuté par ordre du roi, sur la corvette de Sa Majesté, la Coquille, pendant les années 1822, 1823, 1824, et 1825 : sous le Ministère et conformément aux instructions de S.E.M. le Marquis de Clermont. Paris : Arthus Bertrand; [accessed 2018 Oct 31]. http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/bibliography/57936.

Fransson T, Jansson L, Kolehmainen T, Kroon C, Wenninger T. 2017. EURING list of longevity records for European birds [Internet]. [created 2017 Apr; accessed 2018 Oct 31]. https://euring.org/data-and-codes/longevity-list.

Frith HJ. 1967. Burdekin Duck Tadorna radjah (Garnot). In: Waterfowl in Australia. Honolulu (HI): East-West Center Press. p. 151–161.

Garnett ST, Crowley GM. 2000. Radjah Shelduck (Australian). Canberra (Australia): Environment Australia The action plan for Australian birds 2000.

Garnot RP. 1826. Voyage autour du monde entrepris par ordre du gouvernement sur la corvette La Coquille. Bruxelles: Wouters Gregoir; p. 140. [various printings late 1820s and 1830s; 1839 printing: https://doi.org/10.5962/bhl.title.119917].

Gill F, Donsker D (eds.). 2018. IOC world bird list (v. 8.2) [Internet; worldbirdnames.org]. doi:10.14344/IOC.ML.8.2.

Gould J, Rutgers A. 1967. White-headed Shelduck, Tadorna radjah. In: Birds of Australia. London: Methuen & Co, Ltd. p. 62–63.

Heublein E. 1963. Waterfowl. ZOONOOZ XXXVI:7.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS) [Internet database]. Ornithorhynchus anatinus. TSN 552524. [updated 2017 Nov 08; accessed 2018 Mar 16]. https://www.itis.gov/.

Johnsgard PA. 1965. Radjah Shelduck (Tadorna radjah). In: Handbook of waterfowl behavior. Ithaca (New York): Cornell University Press. p. 90–93.

Johnsgard PA. 2010a. Radjah Shelduck. In: Ducks, geese, and swans of the world. Lincoln (NE): University of Nebraska Press. p. 129–131.

Johnsgard PA. 2010b. Tribe Tadornini (sheldgeese and shelducks). In: Ducks, geese, and swans of the world. Lincoln (NE): University of Nebraska Press. p. 101–131.

Johnstone ST. 1968. The Slimbridge collection—the first 21 years. Wildfowl. 19:125–129.

Le Souëf D. 1902. Descriptions of birds'-eggs from the Port Darwin District, Northern Australia. Emu 2(2):85-96. doi:10.1080/01584197.1902.11791890.

Marchant S, Higgins PJ, editors. 1990. Tadorna radjah Radjah Shelduck. In: Handbook of Australian, New Zealand & Antarctic birds. Vol. 1: pelican to ducks. Melbourne (Australia): Oxford University Press. p. 1218–1222.

Phillips JC. 1922. Radjah Sheldrake. In: A natural history of ducks (vol. 1). Boston (MA): Houghton Mifflin Company. p. 222–227. [accessed 2018 Oct 31]. https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/item/111118#page/359/mode/1up.

Pizzey G. 2012. Radjah Shelduck Tadorna radjah. In: The field guide to the birds of Australia. 9th ed. Sydney (Australia): HarperCollinsPublishers. p. 32–33.

Pratt TK, Beehler BM. 2014. Raja Shelduck Tadorna radjah. In: Bishop KD, Coates BJ, Diamond JM, LeCroy M, editors. Birds of New Guinea. Second edition. Princeton (NJ): Princeton University Press. p. 50–51, 270.

Reeve AH, Mittermeier JC, Fabre P-H, Rosyadi I, Kennedy JD, Haryoko T. 2015. New additions to the avifauna of Obi island, Indonesia, with comments on migration and breeding seasonality of Moluccan birds. Forktail. 31:98–102.

Royal Australasian Ornithologists Union. 1984. Radjah Shelduck Tadorna radjah. In: Blakers M, Davies SJJF, Reilly PN, editors. The atlas of Australian birds. Carleton (Victoria): Melbourne University Press.

Scott P. 2018. Winging it: the beautiful birds of Walkabout Australia soar as stars in their own right. ZOONOOZ XCI:22–24. https://zoonooz.sandiegozoo.org/zoonooz/winging-it/.

Shurcliff KS, McKean JL. 1990. The status of ducks (Anatidae) in the Darwin area, Northern Territory, 1974-1986. Aust Bird Watch. 13:243–248.

Sun Z, Pan T, Hu C, Sun L, Ding H, Wang H, Zhang C, Jin H, Chang Q, Kan X, et al. 2017. Rapid and recent diversification patterns in Anseriformes birds: inferred from molecular phylogeny and diversification analyses. PLOS ONE. 12(9):e0184529. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0184529.

UNEP. 2018. Species+ [online database]. Nairobi, Kenya: UNEP [compiled by UNEP-WCMC, Cambridge, UK]. [accessed 2018 Oct 31]. https://www.speciesplus.net/.

Wetlands International. 2018. Radjah radjah (Radjah Shelduck). Wetl Int. [accessed 2018 Oct 17]. http://wpe.wetlands.org/search?form%5Bspecies%5D=radjah&form%5Bpopulation%5D=&form%5Bpublication%5D=5.

White HL. 1917. North Australian birds. Emu 16(4):205-231.

Worthy TH. 2009. Descriptions and phylogenetic relationships of 2 new genera and four new species of Oligo-Miocene waterfowl (Aves: Anatidae) from Australia. Zool J Linn Soc. 156(2):411–454. doi:10.1111/j.1096-3642.2008.00483.x.

ZIMS (Zoological Information Management System). 2018. [updated 2018 Dec 01; accessed 2018 Dec 26]. https://www.species360.org/.

Additional Internet Resources

Radjah Shelducks

Two Radjah Shelducks standing in shallow water

Radjah Shelducks at the San Diego Zoo Safari Park.

Image credit: © San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

SDZG Library Links