Skip to main content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Magpie Goose (Anseranas semipalmata) Fact Sheet: Bibliography & Resources

Bibliography

Bayliss P. 1989. Population dynamics of Magpie Geese in relation to rainfall and density: implications for harvest models in a fluctuating environment. J. Appl. Ecol. 26:913–924. doi:10.2307/2403701.

Bayliss P, Finlayson CM, Innes J, Norman-López A, Bartolo R, Harford A, Pettit NE, Humphrey CL, van Dam R, Dutra LXC, et al. 2017. An integrated risk-assessment framework for multiple threats to floodplain values in the Kakadu Region, Australia, under a changing climate. Mar. Freshwater Res. doi:10.1071/MF17043.

Bayliss P, Ligtermoet E. 2017. Seasonal habitats, decadal trends in abundance and cultural values of Magpie Geese (Anseranus semipalmata) on coastal floodplains in the Kakadu Region, northern Australia. Mar. Freshwater Res. doi:10.1071/MF16118.

Bayliss P, Yeomans K. 1990. Seasonal distribution and abundance of Magpie Geese, Anseranas semipalmata Latham, in the Northern Territory, and their relationship to habitat, 1983-86. Wildl. Res. 17:15–38. doi:10.1071/WR9900015.

Berndt RM, Berndt CH, Stanton JE. 1993. A world that was. The Yaraldi of the Murray River and the Lakes, South Australia. Vancouver: University of British Columbia.

BirdLife International. 2016. Anseranas semipalmata: The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species 2016. Cambridge (UK): International Union for Conservation of Nature. [accessed 2017 Dec 6]. doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2016-3.RLTS.T22679732A92826979.en.

Brook BW, Whitehead PJ. 2005a. Sustainable harvest regimes for Magpie Geese (Anseranas semipalmata) under spatial and temporal heterogeneity. Wildl. Res. 32:459–464. doi:10.1071/WR02104.

Brook BW, Whitehead PJ. 2005b. Plausible bounds for maximum rate of increase in Magpie Geese (Anseranas semipalmata): implications for harvest. Wildl. Res. 32:465–471. doi:10.1071/WR02105.

Carboneras C, Kirwan GM. 2017. Magpie Goose (Anseranas semipalmata). In: Handbook of the birds of the world alive. Barcelona (Spain): Lynx Edicions. (del Hoyo J, Elliott A, Sargatal J, Christie DA, de Juana E, editors.). [accessed 2017 Dec 5]. http://www.hbw.com/node/52793.

Cobden R, Clarkson C, Price GJ, David B, Geneste J-M, Delannoy J-J, Barker B, Lamb L, Gunn RG. 2017. The identification of extinct megafauna in rock art using geometric morphometrics: a Genyornis newtoni painting in Arnhem Land, northern Australia? J. Archaeol. Sci. 87:95–107. doi:10.1016/j.jas.2017.09.013.

Corbett L, Hertog AL, Muller WJ. 1996. An experimental study of the impact of feral swamp buffalo Bubalus bubalis on the breeding habitat and nesting success of Magpie Geese Anseranas semipalmata in Kakadu National Park. Biol. Conserv. 76:277–287. doi:10.1016/0006-3207(95)00121-2.

Davies SJJF. 1957. The gosling of the Magpie Goose. Emu 57:354–355. doi:10.1071/MU957354.

Davies SJJF. 1962a. The response of the Magpie Goose to aerial predators. Emu 62:51–55. doi:10.1071/MU962051.

Davies SJJF. 1962b. The nest-building behavior of the Magpie Goose Anseranas semipalmata. Ibis 104:147–157. doi:10.1111/j.1474-919X.1962.tb08641.x.

Davies SJJF. 1963. Aspects of the behaviour of the Magpie Goose Anseranas semipalmata. Ibis 105:76–98. doi:10.1111/j.1474-919X.1963.tb02476.x.

Dawson TJ, Whitehead PJ, McLean A, Fanning FD, Dawson WR. 2000. Digestive function in Australian Magpie Geese (Anseranas semipalmata). Aust. J. Zool. 48:265–279. doi:10.1071/ZO00011.

Delacour J. 1954. The Magpie Goose. In: The Waterfowl of the World. Vol. Vol. 1. London: Country Life Limited. p. 21–25.

Delaney R, Fukuda Y, Saalfeld K. 2009. Management program for the Magpie Goose (Anseranas semipalmata) in the Northern Territory of Australia 2009-2014. Darwin: Northern Territory Department of Natural Resources, Environment, the Arts and Sport. [accessed 2018 Jan 16]. https://denr.nt.gov.au/land-resource-management/magpie-goose-management.

Dexter N, Bayliss P. 1991. The effect of experimental clutch harvest of Magpie Goose eggs and juvenile recruitment. Wildlife Res. 18:533-8. doi:10.1071/WR9910533

Dubey JP, Garner MW, Willette MM, Batey KL, Gardiner CH. 2001. Disseminated toxoplasmosis in Magpie Geese (Anseranas semipalmata) with large numbers of tissue cysts in livers. J. Parasitol. 87:219–223. doi:10.2307/3285205.

Edkins E, Hansen IA. 1972. Wax esters secreted by the uropygial glands of some Australian waterfowl, including the Magpie Goose. Comp. Biochem. Physiol. Part B Comp. Biochem. 41:105–112. doi:10.1016/0305-0491(72)90012-0.

Ens EJ, Daniels C, Nelson E, Roy J, Dixon P. 2016. Creating multi-functional landscapes: using exclusion fences to frame feral ungulate management preferences in remote Aboriginal-owned northern Australia. Biol. Conserv. 197:235–246. doi:10.1016/j.biocon.2016.03.007.

Fitch WT. 1999. Acoustic exaggeration of size in birds via tracheal elongation: comparative and theoretical analyses. J. Zool. 248:31–48. doi:10.1111/j.1469-7998.1999.tb01020.x.

Frith HJ. 1967. Magpie Goose Anseranas semipalmata (Latham). In: Waterfowl in Australia. Honolulu (HI): East-West Center Press. p. 44–63.

Frith HJ. 1977. Band recoveries of the Magpie Goose, Anseranas semipalmata. Wildl. Res. 4:81–84. doi:10.1071/WR9770081.

Frith HJ, Davies SJJF. 1961. Ecology of the Magpie Goose, Anseranas semipalmata Latham (Anatidae). CSIRO Wildl. Res. 6:91–141. doi:10.1071/CWR9610091.

Gaunt AS, Gaunt SLL, Prange HD, Wasser JS. 1987. The effects of tracheal coiling on the vocalizations of cranes (Aves; Gruidae). J. Comp. Physiol. A 161:43–58. doi:10.1007/BF00609454.

Gould J. 1848. Anseranas melanoleuca Semipalmated Goose. In: The birds of Australia. Vol. VII. London. (The birds of Australia: in seven volumes). Pl. 2.

Harper MJ, Hindmarsh M. 1990. Lead poisoning in Magpie Geese Anseranas semipalmata from ingested lead pellet at Bool Lagoon Game Reserve (South Australia). Wildl. Res. 17:141–145. doi:10.1071/WR9900141.

Heron SJ. 1973. Record of the Magpie Goose in central New South Wales. Emu 73:28. doi:10.1071/MU973027d.

Huang Z, Ke D. 2016. Structure and variation of the Anseriformes mitochondrial DNA control region. Mitochondr DNA, Pt A. 27:2036–2039. doi:10.3109/19401736.2014.974177.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System database (ITIS) [Internet]. TSN 175198. [accessed 2017 Dec 05]. http://www.itis.gov

Jarvis ED, Mirarab S, Aberer AJ, Li B, Houde P, Li C, Ho SYW, Faircloth BC, Nabholz B, Howard JT, et al. 2014. Whole-genome analyses resolve early branches in the tree of life of modern birds. Science 346:1320–1331. doi:10.1126/science.1253451.

Johnsgard PA. 1961. Breeding biology of the Magpie Goose. Slimbridge (UK): The Wildfowl Trust. [accessed 2018 Jan 3]. https://wildfowl.wwt.org.uk/index.php/wildfowl/article/view/148.

Johnsgard PA. 1965. The Subfamily Anseranatinae. In: Handbook of waterfowl behavior. Ithaca (New York): Cornell University Press. p. 9–13.

Johnsgard PA. 1978. Magpie Goose: Anseranas semipalmata (Latham) 1798. In: Ducks, geese, and swans of the world. Lincoln (NE): University of Nebraska Press. p. 3–4.

Johnstone ST. 1957. Waterfowl collection at Slimbridge 1955-56 (eighth annual report of The Wildfowl Trust, 1954-1956). London: The Wildfowl Trust. [accessed 2018 Jan 17]. https://wildfowl.wwt.org.uk/index.php/wildfowl/issue/view/8.

Kear J. 1973. The Magpie Goose Anseranas semipalmata in captivity. Int. Zoo Yearb. 13:28–32. doi:10.1111/j.1748-1090.1973.tb02096.x.

Kingsford RT, Porter JL. 1993. Waterbirds of Lake Eyre, Australia. Biol. Conserv. 65:141–151. doi:10.1016/0006-3207(93)90443-5.

Livezey BC. 1997. A phylogenetic analysis of basal Anseriformes, the fossil Presbyornis, and the interordinal relationships of waterfowl. Zool. J. Linn. Soc. 121:361–428. doi:10.1111/j.1096-3642.1997.tb01285.x.

Marchant S, Higgins PJ, editors. 1990. Anseranas semipalmata Magpie Goose. In: Handbook of Australians, New Zealand & Antarctic birds. Vol. 1: pelican to ducks. Melbourne (Australia): Oxford University Press. p. 1114–1123.

Morton SR, Brennan KG, Armstrong MD. 1990. Distribution and abundance of Magpie Geese, Anseranas semipalmata, in the Alligator Rivers Region, Northern Territory. Austral Ecol. 15:307–320. doi:10.1111/j.1442-9993.1990.tb01035.x.

Northern Territory Government (2017). Magpie geese and waterfowl season dates. Northern Territory Government of Australia (Internet); published 2017 Sep 23 (accessed 2017 Dec 23). https://nt.gov.au/leisure/hunting-and-shooting/magpie-geese-and-waterfowl-season-dates.

Nye ER, Dickman CR, Kingsford RT. 2007. A wild goose chase—temporal and spatial variation in the distribution of the Magpie Goose (Anseranas semipalmata) in Australia. Emu 107:28–37. doi:10.1071/MU05012.

Olsen GH. 2009. Bacterial and parasitic diseases of Anseriformes. Veterinary Clin. North Am. Exot. Anim. Pract. 12:475–490. doi:10.1016/j.cvex.2009.07.004.

Olsen P. 2010. Semi-palmated Duck (Magpie Goose). In: Upside down world: early European impressions of Australia’s curious animals. Canberra (Australia): National Library of Australia. p. 126–131.

Pettit NE, Bayliss P, Bartolo R. 2017 (published online 2016). Dynamics of plant communities and the impact of saltwater intrusion on the floodplains of Kakadu National Park. Mar. Freshwater Res. doi:10.1071/MF16148

Pettit NE, Naiman RJ, Warfe DM, Jardine TD, Douglas MM, Bunn SE, Davies PM. 2017. Productivity and connectivity in tropical riverscapes of northern Australia: ecological insights for management. Ecosystems 20:492–514. doi:10.1007/s10021-016-0037-4.

Roshier DA, Heinsohn R, Adcock GJ, Beerli P, Joseph L. 2012. Biogeographic models of gene flow in two waterfowl of the Australo-Papuan tropics. Ecol. Evol. 2:2803–2814. doi:10.1002/ece3.393.

Setterfield SA, Douglas MM, Petty AM, Bayliss P, Ferdinands KB, Winderlich S. 2013. Invasive plants in the floodplains of Australia’s Kakadu National Park. In: Foxcroft LC et al., editors. Plant invasions in protected areas: patterns, problems and challenges. Regional patterns: mapping the threats from plant invasions in protected areas. Dordrecht (Netherlands): Springer. p. 167-189. doi:10.1007/978-94-007-7750-7

Simpson DP, editor. 1987. Cassell’s Latin English Dictionary. New York: Macmillian Publishing Company.

Stephenson LR. 2015. The San Diego Zoo: the founding era 1916-1953. San Diego (CA): The Zoological Society of San Diego.

Steven R, Morrison C, Arthur JM, Castley JG. 2015. Avitourism and Australian important bird and biodiversity areas. Umapathy G, editor. PLOS ONE 10:e0144445. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0144445.

Stott K. 1946. A first breeding. Aviculture 16:13.

Sun Z, Pan T, Hu C, Sun L, Ding H, Wang H, Zhang C, Jin H, Chang Q, Kan X, et al. 2017. Rapid and recent diversification patterns in Anseriformes birds: inferred from molecular phylogeny and diversification analyses. Parmakelis A, editor. PLOS ONE 12:e0184529. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0184529.

Todd FS. 1979. Magpie Goose: Anseranatini. In: Waterfowl: ducks, geese, & swans of the world. San Diego (CA): Sea World Press. p. 56–63.

Traill LW, Bradshaw CJA, Brook BW. 2010. Satellite telemetry and seasonal movements of Magpie Geese (Anseranas semipalmata) in tropical northern Australia. Emu 110:160–164. doi:10.1071/MU09098.

Traill LW, Bradshaw CJA, Delean S, Brook BW. 2010. Wetland conservation and sustainable use under global change: a tropical Australian case study using Magpie Geese. Ecography 33:818–825. doi:10.1111/j.1600-0587.2009.06205.x.

Traill LW, Bradshaw CJA, Field HE, Brook BW. 2009. Climate change enhances the potential impact of infectious disease and harvest on tropical waterfowl: tropical waterfowl and infectious disease. Biotropica 41:414–423. doi:10.1111/j.1744-7429.2009.00508.x.

Traill LW, Brook BW. 2011. An aggregative response of the tropical Australian Magpie Goose (Anseranas semipalmata) to seasonal floodplains. J. Trop. Ecol. 27:171–180. doi:10.1017/S0266467410000672.

Traill LW, Whitehead PJ, Brook BW. 2009. How will climate change affect plant—herbivore interactions? A tropical waterbird case study. Emu 109:126–134. doi:10.1071/MU09003.

Tulloch DG. 1985. The Magpie Goose (Anseranas semipalmata) and the black soil plains: a biological case history of waterbirds in coastal north Australia. In Bardsley KN, Davie JDS, Woodroffe CD, editors. Coasts and Tidal Wetlands of the Australian Monsoon Region. Mangrove Monograph No. 1. Darwin (Australia): Australian National University. p. 285-94.

Tulloch D, Cellier K, Hertog A. 1988. The distribution of the nests of the Magpie Goose (Anseranas semipalmata Latham) at Kapalga, N.T.: a four-year study. Wildlife Res. 15:211–221. doi:10.1071/WR9880211.

Tulloch DG, McKean JL. 1983. Magpie goose population on the coastal plains of the Northern Territory (1958–1980). Corella 7, 32–36.

Welch DM. 2016. That bird is not Genyornis. Aust. Archaeol. 82:184–191. doi:10.1080/03122417.2016.1195038.

Whitehead PJ, Tschirner K. 1990. Magpie Goose, Anseranas semipalmata, nesting on the Mary River Floodplain, Northern Territory, Australia: extent and frequency of flooding losses. Wildl. Res. 17:147–157. doi:10.1071/WR9900147.

Whitehead PJ. 1998a. Boofheads with deep voices: sexual dimorphism in the Magpie Goose Anseranas semipalmata. Wildfowl 49:72–91.

Whitehead PJ. 1998b. Dynamics of habitat use by the Magpie Goose, Anseranas semipalmata: implications for conservation management [Ph.D.]. [Darwin]: Northern Territory University. [accessed 2018 Jan 10]. https://espace.cdu.edu.au/view/cdu:6282.

Whitehead PJ. 1999. Aspects of the nesting biology of the Magpie Goose Anseranas semipalmata: incubation period, hatching synchrony and patterns of nest attendance and defence. Emu 99:121–134. doi:10.1071/MU99015.

Whitehead PJ, Saalfeld K. 2000. Nesting phenology of Magpie Geese (Anseranas semipalmata) in monsoonal northern Australia: responses to antecedent rainfall. J. Zool. 251:495–508. doi:10.1111/j.1469-7998.2000.tb00805.x.

Whitehead PJ, Tschirner K. 1991a. Lead shot ingestion and lead poisoning of Magpie Geese Anseranas semipalmata foraging in a northern Australian hunting reserve. Biol. Conserv. 58:99–118. doi:10.1016/0006-3207(91)90047-D.

Whitehead PJ, Tschirner K. 1991b. Patterns of egg laying and variation in egg size in the Magpie Goose Anseranas semipalmata: evidence for intra-specific nest parasitism. Emu 91:26–31. doi:10.1071/MU9910026.

Whitehead PJ, Tschirner K. 1992. Sex and age related variation in foraging strategies of Magpie Geese Anseranas semipalmata. Emu 92:28–32. doi:10.1071/MU9920028.

Whitehead PJ, Turner S. 1998. Using the presence and condition of eggshells to determine nest success in the Magpie Goose, Anseranas semipalmata. Wildl. Res. 25:603–609. doi:10.1071/WR98008.

Whitehead PJ, Bayliss P, Fox R. 1988. Recreational waterfowl hunting activity and harvests in Northern Territory, Australia. Wildl. Res. 15:625–631. doi:10.1071/WR9880625.

Whitehead PJ, Freeland W, Tschirner K. 1990. Early growth of Magpie Geese, Anseranas semipalmata: sex-differences and influence of egg size. Aust. J. Zool. 38:249–262. doi:10.1071/ZO9900249.

Wilson R. 1997. Temporal and spatial variation in the distribution and abundance of the Magpie Goose, Anseranas semipalmata, in the Rockhampton Region of the Queensland Coast. Wildl. Res. 24:347–357. doi:10.1071/WR94044.

Worthy TH. 2008. Pliocene waterfowl (Aves: Anseriformes) from South Australia and a new genus and species. Emu 108:153–165. doi:10.1071/MU07063.

Worthy TH, Scanlon JD. 2009. An Oligo-Miocene Magpie Goose (Aves: Anseranatidae) from Riversleigh, northwestern Queensland, Australia. J. Vertebr. Paleontol. 29:205–211. doi:10.1671/039.029.0103.

Additional Internet Resources

At Home Among Grasses

Magpie Goose in Grass

Adult Magpie Goose, standing alert.

Image credit: © San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

SDZG Library Links